Skip to content

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Can I take melatonin or 5HTP while on prozac?
Knight0fFire posted:
I suffer from depression, anxiety, PTSD, and severe insomnia and recently had to be taken off my sleep medication but I have already tried about 7 different sleep medications and nothing works so at the moment I am only taking 30mg of Prozac. The problem is that since I've been taken off my sleep medication I don't get sleep (I maybe sleep about 3hrs a night). So I heard melatonin is good for sleep and 5HTP is good for sleep and depression but I don't know if I can take both or one or the other with my Prozac. (I would only be taking the melatonin or 5HTP for a month or 2).

ripcmw responded:
Knight
I am not a medical doctor nor do I know what to tell you about what you asked. I just wanted to say WELCOME! I have not seen you here yet and would like to welcome you. We are all here to help each other and welcome new people. I hope you get an answer soon. Sorry I couldn't help you. Hopefully I can in other ways.
One Day At A Time Where There is a Will, There is a Way

kathycornflakes replied to ripcmw's response:
Hello- Definatley ask your Dr FIRST! Esp since 5htp affects seratonin levels. I know it is so frustrating not to sleep well, but you want to be sure that you will be safe. I am not a Dr, but I know that it is NOT a good idea to mix anti-depressants with many OTC meds- even those that are supposed to be "natural."

susiemargaret responded:
hello, K --

do not take 5-HTP (see PS1) along with prozac/fluoxetine (PS2). this combination can lead to an extremely dangerous interaction that can cause heart problems.