Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

depression meds in military?
mari08 posted:
I am new in the Marines and have been having some depression, I was advised to take Prozac but an concerned that it will be viewed negatively by my unit. Without asking them directly I have not been able to find an list of meds that would be acceptable to treat what I hope is a short term issue. Pls advise, I dont want to jeopardize my military career.

kathycornflakes responded:
Hello- I am a spouce of an active duty Naval officer. I know for him that he cannot take anything- not even an advil for a headache unless it is prescribed by his flight surgeon. He flys planes and you cannot be on any meds while operating an aircraft. I am wondering who advised you to take Prozac? When you joined the marines, they should have given you some testing. Did you disclose that you were feeling depressed? I am concerned for you in that being in the service can be stressful for some and if you are depressed now and just starting your military career- things might escalate. I would recommend that you seek a counselor or therapist first. Maybe working your thoughts and feelings out with someone will help you and you won't need to go the medication route. If you feel you do, you need to go see your assigned unit Doctor. Your medical information needs to be correct in your service record and drug testing in the military is very frequent. (they test for everything- even prescribed meds). Take care of yourself and bless you for joining our strong brave Marines!

susiemargaret replied to kathycornflakes's response:
hello, K --