Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

I desperately need help
An_203918 posted:
I have never been so depressed in my life. I am a college freshman who is miserable at my current school and cannot afford the school of my dreams. Because of my depression I do not feel energetic enough to make friends or make myself happy. I have forgotten what happy feels like. I can't see a therapist because the news of my depression will crush my parents and my parents dont believe that antidepressants are ok to be on. I dont know who to go to or who to talk to. I have no friends and I cant talk to my parents. I can't continue to live this way and i am not suicidal because that would hurt too many people but I need something very badly. I need someone or something to help me.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

kathycornflakes responded:
is there a campus counseling center? If so, you should try to see someone there. They are confidential (I saw someone when I was in college at mine).
What is making you miserable? Are you away from home? Do you feel you don't fit in? Is it possible to transfer? I don't know your parents, but I think they would want to know about how you are feeling now rather than when the effects are apparent (failing grades, etc.) I really think you need to tell them that you are not happy at your current school. You might not need medication- sometimes sorting things out with a therapist can help.

orchid1991 replied to kathycornflakes's response: