Skip to content

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Includes Expert Content
Considering ECT treatment
borntimestwo posted:
Hello, I am considering ECT (electroconvulsive therapy) treatment. My Dr. is recommending it and I am doing as much research as I can. Part of that research to me is finding out personal experiences from those that have undergone it. How bad is the memory loss? Is it profound? Have you had other cognitive problems?
Also, did it help!? I have been battling bipolar illness for many years and no meds help even just a little bit. I am constantly having suicidal idealization. I have been on meds and in therapy for over 15 years.
Thanks for sharing!

Also, can you please share how long ago you had it done?
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Anneinside responded:
I am currently on ECT maintenance, about every 2 or 3 weeks. I started with 3 times a week for two weeks - this is pretty much standard. I started feeling a difference after the second treatment. I have had a series and maintenance in the past - maintenance for 18 months (once a week, every other week, every 3 weeks and finally once every four weeks). There are some people who have monthly ECT indefinitely... I can think of Carrie Fischer from Star Wars.

I have minimal memory loss. Usually when reminded of something the memory comes back. I feel very lucky that I do so well with ECT. I believe I have more memory loss when depressed as I don't seem to form memories... I have re-read some of my journals and don't recall much of what I wrote while depressed.