Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Paxil withdrawal
Cindyrobin posted:
thank you all sooooooooooooooo much for your input. Very much appreciated. Unfortunatley I could not get a psychiatrist with the insurance I have and I have a nurse practioner. i did call her as all of you have suggested and she gave me NO guidance whatsoever. Thankfully I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor so I have some knowledge of withdrawing from meds but not enough to do this without expert guidance. I knew enough to know she was wrong. SO I did contact my pharmacist and she would not tell me ANYTHING! she said it was a liability issue and I would have to ask my prescribing doc. Can you believe this! I am so sick of everyone being so afraid of liability. What they don't seem to realize is without an expert source of info I could have very well comitted suicide. Where's the liability there?????????????? Disgusting.

Anyway I tolerated almost every single symtom some of you described for about 2 weeks. They are now becoming less and easier to tolerate. But my message to ALL of you on here.....question everything. Be aware that not all docs or NP's know what they are doing. Rely on your intuition. If something doesn't seem right to you, it probably isn't. Dont be intimidated by medical degress. Psycotropic meds are tricky. Everyone responds differently and there is no way for anyone to know until you go through hell trying to get the right med or combination.