Skip to content

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Wanted: Experiences w/TMS treatment for Depression
MentallyFubar posted:
I'm interested in hearing from folks who have had TMS (Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation) for treatment of depression.

I've been battling depression off/on for more than 10 years and getting to the end of my rope (to say nothing of 5 years un/under employment). My first go round with Cymbalta really helped with the suicidal aspects but ability to focus and feel happy (normal) never improved much. I got off of it after nearly a year. Been back on twice with decreasing efficacy. I take 1mg Clonapin before bed time which has helped get more restful sleep.

I've started to investigate TMS, FDA approaved treatment which is a DAILY 37 minute deal for 6 consecutive weeks. Possible retreats down the road if required. None of the side effects that come with medication and ECT. Problem: Cost is $12,000.00 AFAIK TMS is not covered by insurance. Not that I have any thanks to my employment situation. Considering going thru one of these medical financing programs to make it happen but I am already up to my eyeballs in debt. I'm sure my depression is affecting my ability to get a job. My thinking is it's either this or Amazon witchdoctor & DME.

Christine1427 responded:
Hi,