Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Includes Expert Content
Advise about medicine?
KimmyMichelle0912 posted:
Hello everyone,

So I am new to the commuinty and I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Kimberly and I was just diagnosed with major depression and I am going to be put on medication. I am so afraid to take medication because I know a lot of people who have had negitive side effects because of the medicine that they are on. Any words of adivise?

Thanks si much for all your help.

XxX
Kimberly

lexismom11 responded:
Basically, all you can do is try them. It's like trial and error. You may need to try a few before you and your doctor find the right one(s) for you. You may experience side effect from them but you will have to decide whether the side effects outweigh the benefit of the meds.

itmatsb responded:
Lexismom has good advice for you and once you are happy again a few side effects, if you even have them, will seem like nothing in comparison to depression. I've suffering from major depression and know this. And BTW, depression alone can cause a lot of physical damage to your body over the years. It's a whole body disease. Good luck and keep in touch with us about how you are doing.

Thomas L Schwartz, MD responded: