Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Depression Meds
bfisch posted:
Another one know a good alternative medicine for Cymbalta. I am a college student and on patient prescription program. I have been paperwork issues with them. I need to find a drug which is cheaper then Cymbalta...It's $275.00 for a month's supply. Any suggestions. I am hoping to hear back from doctor Monday or Tuesday with an alternative. Just hoping someone has an answer for me.

Bfisch

itmatsb responded:
Another anti-depressant in the same class as Cymbalta which is an SNRI, is Effexor which is now available in generic. So you could check into the cost of that generic. It's very important to keep with an anti-depressant which is helping you, so that's why I suggest Effexor. But it would be better to stay on the Cymbalta if it's helping you. What paperwork issues are you having? Can you get the paperwork issues worked out instead? I would be interested in what you come up with. Good luck.

LaReese replied to itmatsb's response: