Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Please take some time to click through these links to find out more about our community.

What is a Trigger and When to Trigger a Post
How and Why to Report a Post
Visit our Crisis Assistance Link for resources. For immediate help, call 911 or get to the ER.

Any thoughts for husbands depression?
Anon_168275 posted:
My husband has been diagnosed and treated for major depression for almost the past 2 years. He has gotten progressively worse despite many medication changes. He attended a day program for 6 weeks that his Psych. recommended. Despite all attempts, he has not gotten any better. I made an appt for a 2nd opinion this Monday, despite having to pay out of pocket. I brought up with his current MD that I feel that all of his behaviors/moods seem to point to something other than just depression . I'm not an expert in this field, but I'm not entirely in the dark. I'm a trauma nurse and have had my own experience with depression. I really don't know what else to do. Everything is crumbling underneath us. He also hasn't worked in 5+years. And he has 2 graduate degrees. Any thoughts/ suggestions would be appreciated.

NedTR37 responded:
Sounds like a tough problem. While I'm not an MD, I am a life long suffer of depression and know it up close and personal. What you describe doesn't sound like a normal trajectory for this disease. Usually these serious episodes will begin to lift after a while and it sounds like your husband's situation is going the other way. Odd.