Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Blood sugar levels
Newtons posted:
My neighbor was taken to a major hospital with a blood sugar level of 1600. He is on morphine and insulin right now. He fell while at home, and an MRI has shown no bleeding in the brain, but he is having trouble remembering his daughter. Have any of you ever known someone that has had that high of a blood sugar level, and does it affect the brain?

xring responded:
I was under the impression that anything around 400 was very serious. I didn't think it was even possible to get to 500-600. I'm sure it could affect the brain because when I was diagnosed at 491, the ER nurse said "we better see you ahead of everybody because we don't want you in a coma." How did they measure it? Our home meters don't go anywhere near that high.

rubystar2 responded:
I work in a hospital laboratory and we do have patients come into the Emergency Room with glucose levels over 1000, but it is rare. More often in the 400-800 range. These are usually undiagnosed patients who 'just haven't been feeling well'. :pbpt: This patient's glucose was probably measured on a lab instrument. If it is too high to read on our instrument, we dilute it until we get a reading then multiply the result by the dilution. I don't know if a glucose level that high can affect the brain, but I would NOT be surprised.

Newtons responded:
I do not know how they measured it, but he is in the major trauma hospital in our area. I hope to know more tommorow. Thanks for your reply.

phototaker responded:
I had a 7 year old little child in my classroom last year that had a 900 in the hospital and lived with no complications. She's now managing her diabetes well, but it was a scare for the parents(and me). I "think" she's on an insulin pump.

nixie99 responded: