Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Reusing needles and lancets
rubystar2 posted:
It has come up on other threads about reusing lancets for glucose readings and needles for insulin. I use needles but it is Byetta I inject. I admit I reuse lancets several times before changing the lancet. I learned that from a longtime diabetic who is type1 and pumping. She said she uses her lancets until they get dull! :eek: I use mine maybe 6 times before I change it. As for needles for my Byetta pen, I also reuse those. Even my own doctor told me you can use them up to 4 times. So I usually open a new needle every two days. I do not store the needle on the pen. In between uses I put it back in it's cap and fold the paper flap back down over the end. I have a hard cover case for my Byetta and the needle goes back safely in the enclosed case. Almost religiously before I test or inject I clean the area with an alcohol swab. Do other people do that? (I work in the medical field so it is almost like a reflex LOL) Anyway, I do reuse my 'sharps' within reason and even though they are no longer sterile, I make sure to keep them clean. What are your thoughts and practices? Just curious.

dustnbones99 responded:
I reuse needles. I know i'm risking an infection but they're expensive. i used to have a friend who lived in the midwest. I would send her money and she would buy me needles there . Here in NJ a box of 100 needles is something like 65.00. She could get the same brand for around 20.00.

amanda2581 responded: