Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Long Term Effect Of Insulin?
tiamo167 posted:
I was dignosised in June with type 2 diabetes. My phyician put me on Lantus. My friends say, "Oh, you take insulin? That's too bad" What are complications and long term effects of taking insulin? Should I ask my doctor if I can control my diabetes with oral medication? My last two A1C tests were under 7.

dgarner11 responded:
I've been taking insulin for nearly 21 years and the only long term effect I've noticed is blood sugar control. your friend needs to educate themselves before making silly comments and scaring you. Do some research and ask your doctor what meds he thinks is best and if you don't like his answer get a second opinion.

auriga1 responded:
I've been using Lantus and Humalog for over three years now. The only thing I've noticed is great blood sugar control, like dgarner said. My initial A1C at diagnosis was 13.2. With the insulin usage, diet and exercise, I've brought it down to 6.0. Don't let your friends scare you. If you get good blood glucose control, that's the only thing that matters. Complications from uncontrolled diabetes is something you should keep at bay.

flutetooter responded:
It might help for you to look up the effects of insulin through your computer and then discuss this with your doctor. Some doctors have favorite ways of treating certain diseases. He might tell you why he chose this way rather than first trying diet and exercise and oral meds. Are you overweight? Could you adhere to a strict eating and exercise plan? Do some research. There is a good place to start at the top of this web site. Go back to your doctor with some information and a plan, and he may agree with you. I have read that insulin can rough up the insides of your blood vessels and in that way cause more artery disease. But definitely, having high blood sugar is even worse for your body and insulin is often necessary.

Hootyowl2 responded: