Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Reasonable Accommodations
supportfamily posted:
I know a little about diabetes as three of five siblings and my father were, or are, diebetic. I am a manager at a community college where one of my duties is to help the campus be sustainable, which includes lowering our energy use. Difficult task as I find many individuals believe they are, in their perception, an exception to the rule when it comes to heat/electrical appliances. The first flag thrown is the medical flag. I do want to do the right thing here and want to accomodate to the extent possible; however I am struggling with a couple of concerns raised.

My question: I have a diabetic individual who keeps a refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker and a fan in their small 8' x 8' office. We have asked all staff on campus to please use break-rooms and to not bring private appliances to their work space in an effort to reduce energy consumption. Does being diabetic require you to have a refridgerator, microwave, coffee maker and fan immediately at your fingertips to be safe and healthy?

DavidHueben responded:
In my opinion, no. That seems to be overkill.

DMH
Watch what people are cynical about, and one can often discover what they lack. - General George Patton Jr

xring responded:
Those are more like "convenience" items that necessities.

I've used an insulated bag with that blue ice thing at work. Keeps food cold for several hours.

The only real necessities for diabetics are snacks in case of low blood sugar. Anything with carbs/sugar will do - granola bar, cookies, hard candies , fruit juice, soda or plain sugar.

Maybe a water bottle or access to drinking water since higher blood sugar can cause thirst.
The only way to avoid criticism is to say nothing, do nothing

mhall6252 responded: