Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Test result confusion
Anon_237334 posted:
I am a diabetic and have been for over 10 years. My recent test results were:

Microalbumin, UR,QN detection limit from 761.7 to 1782.1 in 6 months.
Creatinine, Urine from 122.7 to 240.2 in 6 months.
Microalbumin/Creatinine from 620.8 to 741.9 in six months.

I'm told that an increase of 1000 is not reason for concern, but an increase of 5-6,000 would be. Also since my Micoalbumin/Creatinine is basically unchanged I should not worry and will be tested again in 6 months. Is this reasonable and logical? I'm new to this particular test and the results. Thanks.

mhall6252 responded:
I think you've stumped most of us. It's not often that someone posts a question that no one seems to be able to answer. Perhaps one of our medical experts could tackle this one.

Are you in the US? I wonder if the units of measure are different than what we normally see? Here's a website that can help with interpretation, but I don't know if you'll find exactly the information you are looking for

http://labtestsonline.org/

Perhaps it would be worthwhile to call your doctor and ask for a bit more detail.

Good luck!

Michelle
Michelle Diabetic since 5/2001 Follow my journey at www.mch-breastcancer.blogspot.com Smile and the world smiles with you.

DoloresTeresa replied to mhall6252's response:
I just looked up microalbuminuria. Under treatment they say to increase fruits and vegetables and whole grains like (brown rice); and to reduce (I would eliminate) protein (I am sure they mean animal), salt and fat. If you are a member of this group you probably don't want to hear this. Whole grains and vegetables, fruits and beans are good for diabetics. I have been eating this way with diabetes for 20 years--blood pressure and blood sugar fine-no meds.