Skip to content
Promise butter spread
Debsbears posted:
My dietitian recommended Promise butter spread over many of the other spreads out there. I have been eating it since 2007 because it is label as "heart healthy".

But today I was reading more labels than I care too and found out that this heart healthy product in the ingredients it states it has vegetable mono and diglycerides. (whatever that is). So is this product really as good as they say?

I know my Choles is only 147, trigs 70, LDL 77 and HDL 56 I would like to keep that way - so I don't want to put into me what isn't good.
I shall wait upon the Lord and renew my strength.
Come follow my life's journey at:
www.mybearyspecial.blogspot.com

davedsel57 responded:
Hi, Deb.

I had done research about 10 years ago on the virtues of margarine vs butter. From what I remember, margarine is one molecule away chemically from plastic, or something like that. We use real butter in our family, just in moderation. That is what is working for us.

I am now on Crestor for my cholesterol and my numbers are looking good. My high cholesterol is mostly due to the fact I am obese, according to my doctor. Once that condition is resolved my numbers should be normal without medications but with diet and exercise.

The butter works for us, but may not work for everyone.
Click on my user name or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings,

Dave

Debsbears replied to davedsel57's response:
Thanks Dave but I honestly have to say I do not like the taste of real butter - it has a greasy taste it for me.

mhall6252 responded:
I use real butter, too. I have never cared for the taste of margarine, and so it's the real thing or nothing. I like dipping crusty bread in olive oil infused with herbs, but nothing beats popcorn with real butter. It is my major "indulgence."
Michelle
Diabetic since 5/2001
Follow my journey at www.mch-breastcancer.blogspot.com
Smile and the world smiles with you.

nwsmom replied to mhall6252's response: