Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Diet Question
wahmse posted:
Hi,

I am really confused. I am recently diagnosed I attended a Diabetic Class today and was told the following:

45 to 60 carbs per meal
7z protein per day
160 BG is ok after a meal

I am obese and just wondering if I won't gain even more weight...even when choosing better food choices following a high carb diet?

I used to do Atkins..but I didn't stay with it so that training is stuck in
my head.

My AIC is 7.4
No known kidney issues at this time.

Does this sound right? I am reading other forums who say it is way to many carbs and kinda old school.

Thanks for your feedback. It is so appreciated.

dianer01 responded:
Hi,

Welcome to the board. Going to these diabetes classes is a good start. In addition to whatever literature you were given in this class you may want to read Dr Dansingers blog. There is lots of good information there.

I am not a medical professional, this is only my opinion.

I believe a lunch and dinner should be 45 g of carbs or less and breakfast 30g. You said your protien limit is 7z. I am not sure of what that measurement is. You probably want to talk more to your doctor to determine what your specific carb and protien and calorie intake should be.

Your adkins training may help as not all carbs are created equal. Simple carbs such as white bread, white rice, cookies, crackers, chips and candy will raise your blood glucose much faster than more complex carbs such as green leafy veggies and whole grains.

A blood glucose of 160 2 hours after a meal is a little higher than current thinking. The current standard is 140 and depending upon how stringent you are with your diet, you may target even lower.