Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
How fast is it safe to lower blood sugar
nikitakev posted:
My husband has been diagnosed with diabetes 3 days ago, his blood sugar was not measurable in the doc office and was not measurable after 20 units of Insulin. The doc told him to take 1000mg Metformin twice a day and eat normal!!! He is taking his pills and reduced carbs ( complex ones ) to 150g a day. His blood sugar is down to around 210 two hours after eating. But he feels miserable, muscle pain, exhausted ,sleepy, headache. Is his sugar coming down to fast? Is this normal? Should I take him to the emergency room?
His A1C was off the charts at 18, he is active , exercises 5 times a week, weights 180 pounds at 6'2 , he is 45 years old.
His doctor did not feel it necessary for a dietitian referral but I insisted , but that appointment is weeks away.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

auriga1 responded:
Not measurable...way off the charts maybe? Not sure as I am not a medical professional.

A 210 blood sugar reading is too high a reading two hours after a meal. It should be 140 or under.

I, for one, need to reduce my intake of carbs drastically. My body is "allergic" to carbs, any kind of carbs. We are all different, but some of us react to any kind of carb we eat with a higher blood sugar.

Your husband's A1C is way off the charts, as you said. An A1C of 18 averages about 470 blood glucose reading daily for three months. That is dangerous. He needs to get it down as fast as possible.

He needs to see an endocrinologist. The emergency room is not in order at the moment unless his blood sugar rises to around 500. Then he needs to get it down immediately.