Skip to content
insulin drawbacks
kevinc8372 posted:
i'm kind of new to being a diabetic and i take a couple of types of pills to control it. My question is though if i go on insulin is there any chance of it shortening my lifespan, or any life threating illness i could get from using it. I.E. liver failure or kidney failure. i would love to hear any feedback that anyone may have on the subject thank you all for your time

mustang37b responded:
I'm not to sure about insulin, because I just started metformin couple days ago, but there's a lot of people who takes insulin would give you a lot of advice, there's a lot of good people that are more knowledge than me but I can try to help, I've been diagnosed in 2008 we type II diabetes at the beginning of my stage I was only a prediabetic meaning I wasn't taking anything it with diet and exercise. But over the years my weight escalated and now I take diabetes meds, it's working pretty good for me I'm eating better and my numbers been leveled, what I understand that's a good thing before was all over the place.

dustnbones99 responded:
I've been on insulin since 2001 and for me it has been much better then pills which all have nasty side effects. A healthy body makes insulin so it isn't really an unnatural substance. The only fairly common risk i know of is low blood sugar which can be dangerous. There are some other things like infections from injections or allergic reactions but i think these are rare. I reuse my needles to save money and i've never had an infection.

hootyowl2 responded: