Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Just need to vent!
AbDiabetes88 posted:
Hello. I'm 24 years old, I'll be 25 next week, and I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes when I was 18. In March of last year (2012), I became insulin dependent, when before I relied on pills and exercise to keep my sugars stable. Luckily I had my parent's insurance until I was 23, but once I started my first job (I'm a teacher), I got my own insurance. My employer has a self-funded insurance program which is great because the premium is super low, but the prescription insurance SUCKS! I have a $3,000 maximum limit on my prescriptions (I take Novolog and Levemir), and once I reach that limit I have to pay for 1/2 of the prescription cost. I've been trying to figure out what I can do because it seems I will run out of my maximum money around July or August (the same time I ran out last year), and I can't afford to pay for my insulin when that happens. It's so frustrating! I already stress about having diabetes, but when it comes to paying for my insulin, it makes me stress even more. Does anyone know if there is an easier/cheaper way to get insulin and diabetes supplies? I feel like my insurance, which is through CVS Caremark, screws me over a lot of the time, but I'm not sure what to do. I have a very aggressive insulin to car ratio which doesn't help the amount of insulin I have to purchase either . I think I'm just having one of those days where everything seems to get to me, but I'm just worried that I'll run out of my insurance again. Thanks for listening, and if you have any suggestions, please fire away!

rohvannyn responded: