Skip to content
A1C Borderline & Food Intake
AmazingHealth posted:
Hi everybody, it is my first time knowing that 1 have pre-diabetes and of course high cholestrol with bad triglycerides. I never had a A1c test before and always looked at glucose level instead. And coincidentally, the doctor decided to take a full screening and my A1C is at 5.7. Apparently the norm range is 4-5.6. After knowing I am at risk for diabetes, i started eating oatmeal every morning.

I bought the Quaker instant oatmeal and eat every morning. I noticed they sell lots of flavor and I picked the one with the least sugar which is maple & brown syrup. It says it has 1g of sugar in it. And in the ingredient it does not state any sugar word.

Now my question comes to: is it too sweet still? I can smell the maple sweetness form far away. Makes me wonder if this will even help my sugar level??? I know it helps my cholestrol as I used to eat oatmael twice a day and my cholestrol drops drastically. I'm now worried about the sugar stuff.

And I don't drink pop, neither do i eat candies.

Hope to hear from someone.

mrscora01 responded:
You need to count grams of carbohydrate, not grams of sugar. Carbohydrates are turned by the body directly into sugar. Most people with diabetes don't eat oatmeal because it spikes their glucose. My husband had to give it up.

What does it do to your blood sugar (test at the 1 and 2 hour marks)? You will see if you can handle it or not.

Cora
T1 1966, Dialysis 2001, kidney transplant and pump 2002, pancreas transplant 2008

betatoo responded: