Skip to content
Am I being a worry wort?
An_253989 posted:
Hey all,

I have a question for those more in the know about this condition. I have a family history of Type 2. I've always been concerned about my own risks. I already have a high blood pressure. And I'm only 30. I went for my annual physical about 3.5 weeks ago. Blood glucose levels were within normal ranges at that time. As they are generally. It was 90. And the year prior, it was 89, and the one before that, I believe 90. So that seems to be my norm.

Over the past few weeks. I've been running myself pretty hard (I'm a student). More than anything I've just not been getting enough rest. I'm a vegetarian, and my diet hasn't changed much. Lately, I've noticed during the day having to urinate more often and feeling hungry still even after a full meal. I have a history of anxiety, and for the longest had put away the day-to-day anxieties of developing this condition. I'm curious if I should get re-screened for diabetes? I kind of don't want to give into my fears (I've been down that expensive and stressful road), but again, not sure if I could literally have worn myself down over that past few weeks to change my health condition?

Thanks for listening and any advice.

An_251837 responded:
Rather than go through the effort, time and expense of seeing your doctor (not a bad thing, though) you could buy a test meter and strips. They are available over the counter without a prescription and are reasonably priced. Test your blood sugar first thing in the morning after not eating or drinking for 10-12 hours, and again 2 hours after a meal. Do this periodically to monitor your sugar and if it starts going up consistently it is time to see your doctor.

carpesomething replied to An_251837's response: