Skip to content
need help
dimplez0104 posted:
Hi everyone im new to this. . Im type 2 my sugar was 516 and now its 400 I take pills and insulin. . I don't know what to eat need help please

davedsel2 responded:
Hello.

WebMD has an excellent Diabetes Health Center here: http://www.webmd.com/diabetes/default.htm

Read through this and it should answer many of your questions. Most Diabetics follow a diet that is low in starches (potatoes, rice, white past, etc.) and high in vegetables, lean protein and dairy.

You need to get back with your doctor asap to get your numbers down. They are dangerously high. Fasting blood glucose readings should be 80-100 optimally. You should also find a Certified Diabetes Educator, Nutritionist or Dietician for help with how to eat properly to control blood glucose readings.

Activity is also very important. Do anything to get yourself moving for 30 minutes per day such as taking a walk.

Controlling Diabetes involves a lifestyle change and prescription medication if needed.
Please click on my username or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings,

-Dave

auriga1 replied to davedsel2's response:
Ditto what Dave says. It is imperative you get your numbers down. Your doctor should know your numbers. He/she may need to tweak your meds/insulin.

I use two insulins and my dosages of both have been up and down. Your dosaging depends on what you eat, your weight and your level of physical activity.

As soon as I started being much more active, both of my insulin dosages have been reduced.