Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
What do the numbers mean?
dianecc1 posted:
I've looked it up but because I suspect I have something going on with my blood sugar I was hoping to get some input.

I bought a glucose kit. I'm just getting started but here is what I have.

Fasting glucose was 112. Ate 89 grams of carbs.

15 min after eating the 89 grams - 111 30 minutes after - 128 45 min after - 113 1 hour after - 104. 90 minutes - 103.

I tested at 1/2 hour because I noticed there was some fat content in my bean and cheese burrito. I tested at 45 min because I was feeling nauseous, sleepy, and a bit dizzy. The nausea increased between 45 min and one hour after these carbs. At 90 minutes the nausea is really bad. It makes no sense to me. There is no big variation, yet I have all the symptoms of hypoglycemia.

If I eat sugar I get really bad headaches about 8-12 hours afterwards, and they stay around for a full day. I get shakey, irritable, and sweaty (if too much sugar too fast). When speaking of sugar this includes things that convert fast such as breads and fruits. I have had my vision dull (like shade being drawn), have a sick sweet smell to skin sometimes, huge cognitive decline (waxes and wanes but notable on average). Constant bacterial infections, and overwhelming sleepiness that hits me during the day. The tiredness is hard to describe but if I were to allow my eyes to close during those times I would be asleep and difficult to wake. There is more but this is all in the last few days.

I just started to keep a journal on how I feel, what I eat, and what my blood levels are but so far it doesn't look alarming to me. Maybe what seems to be an allergy to carbs is something else entirely. Maybe there is something else that looks like hypoglycemia and I haven't discovered it.

Any thoughts would help me a lot. I feel incredibly nauseous and tired and I shouldn't feel like that when I eat carbohydrates. Thank you.

flutetooter responded: