Skip to content
Am I going crazy or just pre-diabetic?
pauper72 posted:
I'm working with my Endocrinologist, but want input from others and HOPEFULLY, a statement that says "you're not the only one".

Short version ...
I am 42. I am married less than one year, but getting a divorce. The problem is that he does not know who to serve the papers to; Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde.

I have been checking my sugar for over 5 years now, at the encouragement of my now-hubby-soon-to-be-ex because of things he would notice about my behavior.

I have worn a CGM for a week and the results were pre-diabetic and my doctor and I decided to work with diet. Well, its getting worse and I will be getting my own CGM on Tuesday in hopes of catching my fluctuations faster and fixing them.

The problem is that I am never (or very rarely ever) in the "normal" range. Chicken or the egg, but I drop then spike, then drop, then spike. Its an exhausting roller coaster ride that my friends and family want off of. I feel like I am manic and have been accused of being Bipolar, but each and every time I can prove sugar issues. However, I cannot blame them because I want off, too!

Typically, I could tell if I was outside of my "feel good" range of 78 to 86. With levels at a mere 130, I become Mr. Hyde and DO NOT remember anything that happens for even a couple of days when things will slowly come back to me. I feel like I black out, but hubby says I acted completely coherent and cognizant. Now, its getting to the point where I cannot tell that I am even below 50, which scares me and the thought of living alone because he usually catches my lows and makes me drink milk.

So, major sugar fluctuations, extremely easy and LARGE bruising, and failure to drop my "winter weight" has me stressing out. I have a lot of tests that she ordered, but I was hoping to see if I was alone in this or if others can offer some insight.

Anyone???