Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

(HELLLLP)Cayenne pepper Lemon juice diet
cle123 posted:
I have a couple of questions about the cayenne pepper diet. I am thinking of trying the diet after success from the diet by famous actors and also my mother lost 10 pounds in 10 days. My questions are:
a) Is the diet healthy (meaning can I lose weight safely)?
b) Can I eat fruit and/or vegetables when I get hungry or am I supposed to not eat at all?
c) Will the diet cause me to have the symptoms of hunger (growling stomach, headaches, low energy)?
and lastly
d) When I am done with the 2 week diet, how do I continue to keep the weight off?

I am really only lookingfor answers from experienced professionals or someone who knows about the cayenne pepper lemon juice diet and not just opinions. Thanks everyone (and please try to answe every part of the question I really need help before I try this)

All_is_One responded:
This sounds like a crash diet to me. I'm not an expert, but any diet that isn't full of a balanced portion of different foods is not healthy.

If it involves cutting out certain vital nutrients at any interval in the diet, you will lose weight, that is until you begin eating regularly. In fact, if you starve your body it actually slows down your metabolism.

I highly recommend looking into the mediterranean diet. Its not a specific diet, but rather the eating habits of those who live in the Mediterranean Sea area. Its high in fruits, veggies, nuts/seeds, healthy oil, whole grains, cold water fish, milk/cheeses, and even red wine at most meals (in moderation of course).

This is a lifestyle change. Its not necessarily about removing certain foods but rather incorporating more healthy eating habits slowly into your current diet and just cutting down on the 'bad' foods like high sodium, high saturated/trans fats, and the like.