Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Includes Expert Content
Dr. Peeke
TCL38 posted:
I have seen several magazine and/or internet articles lately about how cooking in plastic can/does interfer(s) with weight loss.

Unfortunately, I have been unable to find the science (I'm a researcher) behind these articles. Can you point me in the right direction and give me your take on this?

I find it really interesting especially since plastic food containers are manufactured to store, freeze and heat food. And I also have noticed an increase of heat-in-plastic food from vegetables to premade meals.

Aside from that I spent four years on the diet boards here on WebMD and no matter how much I counted carbs/cals or how much or what type of exercise I did I couldn't lose weight. I have now four years of records weighing and measuring everything and for a time I lost weight at the rate of 1/4 a week despite being perfect. For me the only thing I could "prove" is conventional diet wisdom does not work for me and my body and despite many tear-filled conversations with several doctors no one can explain it to me either. So if there's something to this plastic thing I want to know.

But as a researcher my caution-this-sounds-like-junk-science detector is flashing.

Thanks,

Tanya
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Louise_WebMD_Staff responded:
Interesting Tanya. I hope Dr. Peeke can come up with some science around this--I will also throw this to our content people to see if they have some research pro or con about it.
~Louise Senior Community Moderator

Pamela Peeke, MD, MPH, FACP responded:
Hi and thanks for your posting. First, to help you understand the role of plastics in cooking, here's a great link to an interview with a Johns Hopkins expert Dr. Rolf Halden on the subject: http://www.jhsph.edu/publichealthnews/articles/halden_dioxins.html