Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Includes Expert Content
Gall Bladder removal, and knowing how to go about recovering a diet from it without pain.
Melchiah3000 posted:
a while back someone i know had her gall bladder removed, she recovered from it and what not, the pain that she was having a lot of before the removal was obviously gone but we found out after a few times of her eating sausage something i normally made quite often that it would cause her quite a bit of pain. we thought maybe it was just that, but other things made her not feel too well either not nearly as bad as the sausage but still not like she should feel after eating a basic meal. recently she decided to work on her diet and exercise I told her I'd help her with her exercise routine since I'm a certified personal trainer. and I can help with her diet. I decided to look up some info on what should be looked at for meals and diets for someone that has no gall bladder, and this is some info I found just incase there is anyone else out there struggling with the same pain as her, I was looking for a discussion about this topic on webmd but was unable to locate one for a little while. http://www.ehow.com/how_4487458_eat-after-getting-gallbladder-removed.html Is the page I found with a good idea of what to go by. I found it through the ehow website as you can see. seems very helpful and with a few other googles on different foods and related foods you can map out a decent diet for yourself if you know what to look for (googleing "daily carb intake/protein intake/fat intake. as well as healthy foods) some quick foods that seem good for carbs rice, sweet potatoes. protein: chicken fish turkey. fats from the meats just listed as well as a flaxseed oil supplement once a day will take care of your fats without overdoing it for your gall bladder. but as the link above describes there's other things to look at as well.

Hope this helps :-)

Pamela Peeke, MD, MPH, FACP responded: