Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Dangerous Calories
CheekyLexa posted:
This is my first time dieting properly without the help of fad diets but I think I'm still in the fad diet mentality. I'm trying to lose 14 pounds in 7 weeks ( 2lb loss per week). My food planner says I have to eat 1200 calories a day and burn 547 calories, but I'm convinced that 1200 calories are too much for the amount of burned calories (547).

To lose 2lb per week, should I decrease my caloric intake?
FirstPrevious12NextLast

Tomato05 responded:
Maybe don't approach it from how many lbs you have to lose in a short period, but rather to lose it slowly but surely, without shocking or punishing your body. And to lose it while eating healthy.

If you eat 1200 cal and exercise moderately most days of the week, the weight will come off at the rate your body will determine. 1lb a week is also quite acceptable and healthy, and will get you to your goal eventually, maybe 3 months.

An_245574 responded:
You should NEVER go below 1200! Even that is too little for most people... I'm doing about 1435 and trying to exercise 3x/wk and lost 3# the 1st week... use the diet planner on webmd and determine your goals, safely!!! You don't want to damage your health or get too weak etc... or lose it only to gain it all back because you lowered your metabolism too much! Good luck!

mbartos responded: