Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Weight Loss woes
khobson posted:
I have been walking 1-2 miles daily for the past 2 months or maybe longer. I have not lost a single pound and can't really tell that my clothes are any loser to indicate inches lost. I am hypothyroid so I know it should be some harder for me, but this is ridiculous. Any suggestions or words of wisdom?

grgram responded:
The problem is probably what you're eating. If you've ever seen an exercise chart that shows the amount of effort and length of time engaging in various exercises, it's very discouraging. It takes a LOT of exercise over a long period of time to burn up any significant amount of calories. Exercise is very good for muscle tone and overall fitness, even mental outlook but poor for reling on for losing weight. Look honestly at what you're eating and write it down. If you stay around 1200/1400 calories/day you will lose weight. Get very honest with yourself. I see some people on these boards who are using various excuses for not exercising and blaming that for not losing weight when they aren't controlling their food. I sound like a broken record but there is no way around controlling our food. There are no words of wisdom. Eat right, and count calories. Even when we eat only the good healthy foods, we need to count calories. Write everything you eat down, it tends to keep us honest if you have to write it down. It's hard but doable. You can do it if you are willing to do what it takes. Keep posting and let us know how you're doing.

Tomato05 replied to grgram's response:
Very good advice grgram, I couldn't agree more.

marknanrog responded: