Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Includes Expert Content
EXcess Fat
An_247680 posted:
I have been dieting and exercising for the last 30 years after losing 40 pounds. I'm not overweight. I've kept my weight off after I lost it years ago. My BMI is 24 and my doctor does not think I am over weight.

However I have such belly fat and no matter what I do, I cannot lose it. As I have said, I diet and exercise. What is wrong with me? It's not my thyroid. I've had that checked. I eat healthier than any one that I know. My friends think I am finicky because they don't think I'm over weight. I'm not. I just want to lose the dangerous belly fat. What more can I do?

Help

Pamela Peeke, MD, MPH, FACP responded:
HI and thanks so much for your posting. Belly fat was my main research interest at my NIH lab. My findings led me to write after Fight Fat after Forty, as well as Body for Life for Women. In both books, i describe where extra belly weight comes from after the age of 35-40 in both men as well as women.

Let me clarify some points for you.

There are two kinds of belly fat. There is a layer of fat that lays on top of the AB muscle. This is the "pinch an inch" fat that you can actually grab. This is not associated with medical disease unless you have an enormous amount. As women and men age, they will pick up around 5 pounds extra due to downward shifts in sex hormones--- estrogen in women, testosterone in men. This is typical in the aging process.