Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Healthy Eating: How Long Does it Take to Become a STRONG Habit?
BigDaddyMatty posted:

Let's saw someone goes on a healthy diet like the DASH Diet for example. They realize their weight loss goal and then become diligent about maintaining their new weight by continuing to eat healthy.

Just how long does it take to develop a STRONG habit to eat healthy? I know there are a lot of variables and it differs from person to person but are we talking 3 months or 6 months or a year or 5 years? I would like to get a rough idea. Thanks.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

jis4judy responded:
Hi Matty
I have been maintaining for almost 10 years a healthy eating journey I can tell you that there will be slip ups to old eating habits the key is to not allow them to become habits again /
it seems to me my old bad eating habits are not gone they are just sleeping and waiting for me to slip up, the idea is to not let them take hold again .. be vigilant and keep on the healthy journey there are so many benifits for your body //
so I have a rule I follow and it is if I slip I have to get on my plan asap and stay there for a month . this works for me
most times It is easy for me to stay on my healthy eating
that came during the weight removal stage the firat year BUT be aware of slips you had one the other day I think put it behind you and move forward to the health you that you deserve.
Hugs Judy:)
Sw 247 Cw 149ish

remember the gold isn;t in the prize it is in the journey!
life may not be the party we expected but while we are here we may as well dance!

BigDaddyMatty replied to jis4judy's response:
Thanks Judy.

Your comment "...it seems to me my old bad eating habits are not gone they are just sleeping and waiting for me to slip up..." really hits home.