Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Dieting with Cancer
IKandy posted:
I have been doing Chemo for the last 6 months. In that time I was told to eat small meals several times a day, Because of the treatment. I am still doing treatment, But have have put some weight on. I would like to know if there is some sort of a diet plan I can do ? I don't gave a lot of energy right now to do a lot of exercising. Can you point me in the right direction. Thank you.

Take the Poll

What is this ?
  • I don't know what the poll question is
  • Not sure
vote
View Poll Results

totallywiggedout responded:
Hi IKandy. Welcome.
While combating illnesses, it is always best to follow your doctor's recommendations. Unfortunately, when most people are told to eat several small meals a day, some think that it's ok to eat a sandwich or something, 4 times/day, or an actual meal several times a day, which isn't possible without gaining.
Remember though, gaining a bit now, as long as you are eating the absolute healthiest foods possible, may help you combat your condition later on. As you know, that severe weightloss can happen during cancer treatments.. It's better to have a bit of a weight buffer than to struggle with rapid weightloss and its resultant illnesses combined with what you are already going through.
I don't suggest a diet at all, actually. Because of this.
You need to be and EAT as healthy as possible right now especially, and the stress of trying to lose weight isn't what you should be focusing on nor should you put your body through right now.
That said.
'You should focus on eating fresh fruits and veggies, no white carbs and as few reg carbs as you can. Focus on plenty of low fat proteins like boneless skinless chicken, trimmed pork, fish and shellfish, tuna packed in water, etc.
Try not to eat processed foods as much as possible.
Cut as far down on Bad fats , sugars and sodium as you can.