Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Wheelchair
racheal30554 posted:
I'm 45 years old and I'm in a wheelchair I weighted 130 pounds when MS put me in the wheelchair and in 5 months I have put on 50+ pounds. Is there a diet that I can use to lose this weight. I have a lot of health problems and I can't breathe being like this. can anyone help me lose this weight.

hannahj488 responded:
Hi Racheal,

I just had to post a reply when I saw you post. I am not a doctor by any means but I health issues myself. About a year and half ago, I was doing physical therapy, which might help you feel better health wise. They specialize in a bunch of different health issues (I went for my fibromyalgia.) Doctors told me I would be in a wheelchair before age 35 (I will be 22 on Monday.) So, I just had to do something about my health.

Diet-wise, there is not a special "miracle" diet that works for everyone. Remember everyone is different. But, I will share what's worked for me. I watch my carb intake. I was considering trying the Paleo diet. Basically what it is is gluten free, lean meats, fruits and veggies, and fish. It's also called the Caveman diet because it's what cavemen ate back in the Stone Age. There's some good books available on that diet. The Paleo Diet: Lose Weight and Get Healthy by Eating the Foods You Were Designed to Eat by Loren Cordain is a good place to start. over 100,000 copies have been sold and there's proof to back up her claim that it actually works.

Also, try to watch your sugar intake. Of course some sugars are fine. Just don't eat 6 donuts a day (that isn't reasonable at all.) I would have a dessert every 2-3 days.

Also, protein shakes are really good. Most places sell a large (about a gallon or so) things of whey protein powder for about $32 (that's what it sells for at Whole Foods.) Not sure if you have a Whole Foods or health food store in your area. Check amazon or ebay for better prices.