Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Response to Roca Labs Discussion
Ross1818 posted:
I am a physician that has treated many patients with obesity and type 2 diabetes. I had noticed this conversation and decided to add my comment.

My first thought is that I would have hoped WebMD would provide a more structured and productive forum for those of us that are dealing with weight issues. Regardless of the product, this person tried a weight loss approach for " a few days" and has not lost as much weight as she would like. I have not meet a person who tried any diet or new health/exercise program that has lost as much as they would like in only " a few days". As the moderator has mentioned, weight loss takes time and effort. Why was this not addressed when reading this persons comments?

Secondly, the post should not be considered valid since the person bought the treatment from an unauthorized seller. What was in the container? Who knows where it came from? For a person to make some dishonest money, all they have to do is put some powder, like jello of psyllium as the person suggested, in any branded container and sell it for a lot of money. In fact, maybe there was actually a laxative that was added and it caused the diarrhea.

I did go to the Roca Labs website and found the formula contains beta-glucan, konjac in a high-fiber content. I have used beta-glucan for an appetite supplement and blood glucose stabilizer in patients with type 2 diabetes. The medical literature strongly supports this. I have not used konjac but there are similar medical reports. High-fiber, as we all know, is healthy and when taken before a meal, results in a slower, more gradual absorption of sugars allowing for a reduced blood sugar spike after a meal. High amounts of fiber also cause a "fullness" feeling as well.