Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Should I be worried about weight and or what I eat?
RWG1623 posted:
Hi everyone not really sure if this is the right place to post this, but webmd seems like a good resource compared to some of the garbage forums out there.

To begin I am a 20 year-old college student currently going to school in Boston, I was previously a college varsity athlete. I am from Colorado and grew up doing lots of outdoor activities, I played tennis in high school as well as several other sports (cycling, ice skating). Anyway with that introduction getting to the question at hand. I am working away from home this summer and therefore have been eating out a fair amount, but also doing some cooking for myself. I have always eaten healthy and balanced. In doing so i pretty much everything from salads vegetables and fruit to burgers and fries to burritos, to pasta and breads to eggs . I don't like butter or lots of salt (and avoid them and generally unhealthy additives). Essentially I eat what I feel like but try to avoid grease and limit my fried food (fries or other) intake to a minimum. I also don't really like sweets but won't say no to dessert every once and awhile.

Recently (this summer) i got on a calorie counting healthy eating and exercise binge (it just started one day randomly) to "get in shape". To the point I am 6'2" and around 147lbs (it fluctuates between 145-150). I would call myself athletic in build and I obviously enjoying activity (hiking, biking, etc. regularly).

Should I really be worried about what I eat? Or about whether or not I am in shape/my weight?

RWG1623 responded: