Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

obesity epidemic
An_254253 posted:
I am a retired school teacher with thyroid disease, advanced osteoarthritis and have fought weight problems my entire life. The only relief I've had is using hca which is no longer available in NC. First, we need to remove high fructose corn syrup from all food products. We need to tax high sugar, high fat products just like we do alcohol. They cause as much damage, if not more. 20 yrs ago a grocery store was about 60/40 ratio of fresh vs. prepared foods. Now, in my area, it's about 90/10. I grow many of our foods organically in raised beds, small children's wading pools and 5 gal. buckets. It is very possible for anyone to do this. At one pt., in lived in suburban Charlotte, NC and had a 6 x8 patio as my only resource. The want to change must be there. Educating children in schools, giving them healthy choices, and increasing individual as well as team sports activities. Good health mentors are needed. Then, hold them and their parents accountable through increased insurance rates and required coaching help. Doctors must be more accessible for people with weight problems. Early, it is a health difficulty; with time, it develops into a disease. The problem must be addressed early.

brunosbud responded:
Question: What specifically needs to be taught to children and how effective can "education" be if instructed principals are not observed and practiced at home.

Question: How can there be a fat tax/incentives without being riddled with "loopholes"? For example, hypothyroidism, psychotropic medications, comorbidities, congenital diseases, air pollution, etc...ie. The scientific community has, yet, to clearly establish if Obesity caused these conditions or are the result of them.