Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Help me from Self Sabotage!
thejaybird posted:
Hi everyone!
This Friday I will be coming up on my first week of my weight loss goal and I have dropped about 1.5 lbs. Its small, but I am proud that I'm committing myself to lose weight in a healthy way. I am a college student and its difficult to walk into the food court or cafeteria and not envy everyone eating heavy pastas and cheeseburgers, but I know that I'm in a crucial point in my life where I need to get my weight under control and break bad habits while I'm young. I never realized how much I eat. I love to eat when I'm stressed and tell myself that I need the energy in order to stay up and finish my work, but really, I just need some comfort and distraction. I also am a big fan of eating in private. I never eat in front of my friends (specifically my guy friends) because I feel self conscious.Once I get back into my room, however, I start to eat a little bit of everything I see. I filled my fridge with healthy snacks like yogurt and fruit, but still, too much of a good thing can turn into a bad thing without portion control. I don't know how to remedy these issues, but I need help quick because I am afraid that I'll sabotage myself!

brunosbud responded:
A few truths I've learned...

• Provided you remain calm and patient, the worst things in life will eventually become the best things in life.
  • It's OK to be afraid, just don't live life in fear, and
  • Don't sweat the small stuff...which, aside from cancer, is pretty much everything...

Oh yeah, one more...

Don't use the term "OMG!!!" It lowers expectations of your capabilities...

3point14 responded: