Skip to content
more exercise/less food? yet again?
nettita posted:
Hello all,
It is my first time on one of these forums. I've been reading webmd for a long time now and think you guys can help me!
I've been keeping a healthy diet and exercise plan for a long time now ( 3 years+). I lost around 25 pounds in a year at some point thru running and dieting. My diet was based on a 1200 calorie plan filled with healthy foods. It was all good, until i reached my so called "set point" weight. Ever since highschool my body seemed to settle at this weight, which is around 15 pounds higher than my current weight now. So, I've been spicing up my exercise plan, doing strength training and increasing intensity on my running. I know that I can reach my goal , i am pretty motivated to say the least.
I know that in order to lose more I need to either increase my exercise or decrease the amount of food i am eating. But the problem is , i have been on this diet for such a long time, my body is used to the 1200 cals and doesn't seem to go further down in weight. Now, if I decrease my food intake that brings me below 1200 which is not advisable right? But it is also very difficult for me to push even more with my exercise.
Another issue is that it takes me way more time to lose any bit of extra weight that I put on. Say, one weekend i go travelling and i eat slightly more than my body is used to. It takes way more time to get that extra weight off than the calories the extra food really represented ( related to the amount of time i would need to exercise it off).
So ..my question is ? Do I have to increase my exercise even more, be even more strict? Should I go lower than the 1200 calorie plan?
any idea might help ! thanks a lot !!

Tomato05 responded:
Hi Nettita - it sounds as if you are following a very healthy lifestyle. Congratulations on the weight loss so far.