Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Need motivation and support
sday2226 posted:
Hi all! I am new to this and have never really had to watch what I ate or had to be active to be fit. I have recently gained around 35 unwanted pounds over the past year. I am always on the go and fast food is a downfall of mine. I have no microwave so reheating food is a pain for me. I have asthma and am so out of shape..

I am in desperate need of motivation and support.
I know that I need to change my lifestyle (exercise and eating better), but I am at a loss at where to start.

I know the basics.. cut off the fast food, cut out the pop, and to watch the calories that I consume and of course becoming active.

It comes down to actually sticking with all of this that I am having the trouble!

Please give me support and motivation to start and continue this journey!

monalizzie responded:
All of my life, I have been watching my weight, sometimes with more effort than others, and my weight has gone up from 135 when I married to as high as 159. Right now I am 149 and stuck there no matter what I do, so I am not a whiz at weight loss, but I can tell you how to manage without a microwave and still eat healthy when you are in a hurry. If you own a pot that has a steamer insert and a pan to use in the oven, you are all set. When I was working, I made a menu and shopped once a week, and then prepared all my meals for the week in one day. I washed and cut up vegetables to cook on whatever day I wanted them, and would defrost skinless chicken tenders or frozen fish the day I planned to eat them. Supper could be ready in 20 or 30 minutes everyday. If you want some specific recipes/menus, I'd be happy to supply them.

Spotlight: Member Stories

I've been on a diet my whole life. And I'm sick of it. I want to find a balance of health and happiness through nutrition and exercise. htt...More

Helpful Tips

Fast Weight Loss Now