Skip to content
What else is there?
An_241182 posted:
Hi. I am twenty two years old and have been trying to lose that 'freshman 15' for the past two years. I have been keeping a good diet with whole grains, vegetables, lean meats, and low on fat and calories. I don't exceed 1,200 calories a day and even when I fall below that it is never less than 1,100 calories. Add to that, I have been exercising six days a week regularly for the past two years. I try to vary my exercises so as not to plateau, but that doesn't seem to make a difference. Currently, I have been running either around my neighborhood or on the treadmill at home. On the treadmill, I do about 30 minutes with the speed at 6.5 and I try to keep this same pace when running in the neighborhood for the same amount of time. At least twice a week (sometimes three) I do strength training exercises and every other week I try to do more sets or just increase the intensity of these exercises. So far, despite keeping a good diet and exercising regularly, I haven't lost a single pound OR inch. In fact, I prefer to calculate weight loss by inches and I have lost none. After two years of nothing, it is seeming kind of hopeless. I'm wondering if anyone knows what else there is I can do for losing these pesky 15 pounds. Thanks.

jendub25 responded:
perhaps cardio isnt the only avenue you should be trying. Have you ever thought about strength training.
I am 28, i dont eat over 1600 calories a day, I eat 6 times a day and never past 7:00pm. I work out 6 times a week and I also ran into the same problem as you. The weight loss just stopped. So I met with my personal trainer and started weight training and strength training. Ive lost 3 lbs and 1/2 an inch.
I would suggest looking into this )

marisasibley replied to jendub25's response:
www.healthylifestylebalance.com
www.redefininghealth.org

Spotlight: Member Stories