Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
new to the community
annett57 posted:
hello everyone, I feel this is the right community for me since becoming a diabetic 15 years ago, I have basically doubled my weight. I went from 200 + pounds to "teetering" at 300 pounds. i was a vegetarian at one time and am trying to resume that way of eating again. i work as a counselor and the stress of this field has contributed to my unmanagability with the diabetes. In addition, I have a very needy, but wonderful family(children-2 sons and grandchildren -7)whose connection with me also contributes to the high stress i sometimes find in my life. i was originally diagnosed as type 2 diabetic and moved into type 1- insulin dependent. I really need to connect with others for support and just like I tell the clients I work with...build a support system. I feel good connecting with WEBMD's resource and hope to benefit and be of some support myself to another or others.

ami_nix responded:
Welcome! I am also new to this community and know what it is like to try to get healthy with a stressful, sit-down job.. I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes right before I had my son and am now knocking on prediabetes door.. I want to change my lifestyle in order to set a good example for my son and also because I'd like to have another baby and I feel like being at the weight I was at before my son was born was taking a serious risk with his health (although, he is a healthy, alert little guy). Good luck on your journey to good health! I hope I can help you on your way
"Don't worry that children never listen to you; worry that they are always watching you." - Robert Fulghum

Byroney_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hello Annett and Ami_nix! Welcome--I'm glad you both found us.

I am under 300lbs now, and I've taken a 1 1/2 years to lose about 35 lbs. I found the biggest help for me in my weight loss journey was daily exercise (a minimum of 1 mile of walking a day, usually 2-3 miles) and stress reduction.