Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Need Some Support
coffeeman0421 posted:
I am new to this discussion group. I need to lose about 100 lbs. Are there any nutrition resources available without having to pay for high cost weight loss programs? Thank you

totallywiggedout responded:
coffeeman, welcome!
First thing we always suggest is to fill out a food and fitness planner, here on WebMd, Fitday.com, Sparkpeople.com, and Livestrong.com , etc. have all got good, easy to use, FREE, online food and exercise journals that we use as tools and guidelines for our weightloss journeys.
Once you start one, and see how many calories and how much exercise to shoot for on a daily basis, you SLOWLY start out making small changes that you can live with. Forever.
A lot of us start by looking at and changing our foods, to include lower fat, sodium and sugar contents, and more raw fresh fruits and veggies. Eating a rainbow every day , helps to keep a nutritional balance.

This chart will help with the rainbow foods

Once you get your intake adjusted so that you are comfortable with it, then start adding some exercise. It's difficult already to change the way you eat, if you do that AND try to up your exercise, you may get overwhelmed and start to Yo Yo or quit altogether out of frustration.
Your dietary intake is 80% of a healthy lifestyle with 20% exercise to maintain healthy muscle tone .

Ditch the chips, the soda, the fruit juice and the high sodium "Gator" drinks.
Drink at least 64 oz of water a day or more. Eat a piece of fruit instead of drinking 3 fruit's calories and sugars. And understand that colas, even calorie free ones, are notorious diet busters.

Eat natural sugar substitutes, like stevia, honey, agave, etc.
Have REAL butter in small amounts vs ANY type of labratory made margarines