Skip to content
Another newbie saying hello
thelovelyjd posted:
Hi All,

I'm sure there are/will be lots of newcomers to the boards with resolutions and such still going strong. I've been somewhat successful in weight loss in the past (lost around 85 lbs in just over 6 months) but gained it all back after some emotional/life setbacks.

I'm currently the heaviest I've ever been, and since I'm also the oldest I've ever been, it is really affecting my life. I've always been big, but this is just ridiculous and I know it.

I'm an attorney and have a full time non-legal job as well. I work all the time and as such, I ate out a lot. By the time I get home in the evenings I was too tired to care about what I was eating. My crazy schedule also led to a lot of late nights, early mornings, and little sleep. I've committed to changing all of that in the future. I can't make any money at all if I'm dead.

So, that being said, I'm around 400 pounds at the moment. I was around 375 when I started my prior weight loss experience and ended up around 285. I was quite happy at 285, but realizing that number is 115 pounds away is a cruel realization.

My initial goal is to get to 345 in the next five months. To up the ante and increase motivation, I've purchased a gift certificate for two float-tank sessions (the tanks have a 350 weight limit).

I broke my leg and tore my knee up about 7 months ago, so physical activities are still really, really rough. I'm starting very small-- parking further away, taking one flight of stairs, walking around the building at lunch, and doing water aerobics once a week. I also plan to go to a few Zumba classes and my goal is to complete at least 25 minutes of the class in the first two weeks. Baby steps.

Anyways.... that is me. Glad to be here... would love to meet others starting on their journey.

crisbear responded: