Welcome to the Club! No fees to pay, no contract to sign, all that is needed -
Pounds to lose!

Helpful links - Healthy Eating and Diet Center
Food and Recipes Center
Diet Club Newcomer Tips
Food & Cooking Community
Cant Control Eating habits
kidsurgeon posted:
Someone please tell me how to control my eating habits. I just cant stop. i live with my parents and we all eat at a table and i have to eat whatever my mom cooks. i am a medical student so i really don't have time any time to cook a separate low cal meal for myself. And what the heck i don't even know how to cook. And my house is always stocked with sweets that i cant take my hands off. Although i exercise every morning but i also want to control my eating habits and try to eat within 1500 calories per day because without that exercise isn't showing much results. So any advice?

Tomato05 responded:
Although you can't control the cooked meals, I suppose you can have more say about what you eat for breakfast and lunch?

If for example you make your own breakfast of cereal, fruit, or yoghurt and own lunch of a healthy sandwich or a salad or soup, or veg and a protein, you will be left only to deal with the dinner.

I don't know the setup in your house, but have you tried asking your mom to make you some steamed veg and a piece of lean meat/chicken/fish for dinner? And to steam veg doesn't really require any cooking skills - stick them in the microwave oven for 4 or 5 minutes, if you need to do it yourself.

If the situation doesn't allow you to eat leaner at dinner, your only option is to keep your portions small. Or skip the rice/potatoes and eat more veg. You could offer to make a salad in the evening (not time consuming, just chop a few raw veg quickly), so eat more of that too.

But try to talk to the person who does the cooking and see if she/he won't be prepared to help you.

kidsurgeon replied to Tomato05's response: