Welcome to the Club! No fees to pay, no contract to sign, all that is needed -
Pounds to lose!

Helpful links - Healthy Eating and Diet Center
Food and Recipes Center
Diet Club Newcomer Tips
Food & Cooking Community
Newby
Cami11e posted:
Hi everyone. I am new to the 25 - 50 lbs. diet club. I am 49 years old and have 30 lbs. to lose. My current weight is 165 lbs. I exercise regularly with spin classes and weights, although I could add more weight training.

I have been busy with a new house for 4 months and put my exercise and good eathing habits on the back burner. During this period of time, I managed to gain 20 lbs. and went to 175 lbs. I returned to the gym about a month ago and lost 10 of the 20 lbs I had gained. Before buying my new house, I still had 20 lbs to lose, so you can see my issue.

My problem is not with exercise, but with eating. Someone once told me that eating is 60% of the equation to losing weight, whereas exercise is 40%. I need to keep that in mind.

I know what I should be doing, so I need some accountability. I figured that I could get that here and share my experiences with others doing the same.

Cami

Tomato05 responded:
Good luck, Cami, It's good to hear you exercise regularly.

I actually think diet plays a bigger role in the weight loss equation than 60%. In fact, I think since the early civilisations lots of people have lost weight even without any exercise.

Exercise is essential though for health and wellbeing reasons, plus it gives you a nice shape. It burns calories, of course, but it is almost impossible to calculate exactly how many, unless you do it in a lab (too many factors play a role). It is therefore a guessing game.

My approach is rather that one should eat below maintenance level (sensibly, though, say 500 cal below maintenance), and exercise as much as is reasonable possible.