Pounds to lose!

Helpful links - Healthy Eating and Diet Center
Food and Recipes Center
Diet Club Newcomer Tips
Food & Cooking Community
New - Goal of 30 lbs
PMTprincess posted:
Hey all, I'm PMTprincess.

I'm a graduate student that definitely spends too much time in the lab / in front of the computer and not enough time thinking about what I'm eating or if I'm exercising. I gained the freshman 15 and kept going... Hit a weight gain plateau of 200lbs for a solid 6 months, but recently I've started gaining weight again. I figured it's time to start taking this seriously.

I'm usually on campus for 10-11 hours a day, which means I eat a lot of junk food - obviously that's out now!!

I also have patellofemoral pain syndrome, or "runner's knee". I've been told I will have to live with this for the rest of my life, but losing weight will help lessen the pain. The problem is I can't do any kind of exercise that requires me to stress my knees (so running or doing any jumping motions are bad). I've tried swimming and walking, but I can't stick with it.

In short, the last time I felt comfortable with my weight I was in high school and 150 lbs. I'm aiming for 180, which means 30 pounds.

Any hints/tips/comments/suggestions are greatly appreciated. If anyone wants to be my weight loss buddy and keep me accountable, I'm up for that too!

Anyway, I wanted to introduce myself.

totallywiggedout responded:
Hi PMT, welcome.
for exercises , try some passive resistance types, like those using exer-bands , cheap at walmart.
or
try some of these
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1eUmRwRyWD8&feature=related

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/videos-detail.asp?video=42

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/videos-detail.asp?video=38

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Fz5U2uznZE

Actually ANY Tai Chi exercises move your body slow enough to help strengthen and tone , with the side benefit of burning some calories