Skip to content
Any suggestions for mindless eating?
1biteatatime posted:
Hi All, I am new to WebMD and am hoping for your suggestions. I lost 40 lbs 5 years ago and have been gaining and losing the same 5 lbs for the last three yrs. I was widowed 4 yrs ago and live alone. When I am home I do OK. I try and make healthy choices when eating at restaurants. Its when I go over to friends houses that I eat whatever I'm offered. I don't know how to say no. Does anyone have any suggestions for mindless eating? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

blondie454u responded:
One thing that helped on that is writing things down that I ate. This way I could see the calories adding up and I would slow down the eating and be mindful of what I am eating. I also ask the question to myself "is this food I'm going to eat have any nutrients in it that body could use?" If the answer is no I put it back and find something that does. Hope this helps.
Amber CW 129, SW 250. Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.

jis4judy responded:
Hi about eating at a friends house learn to say no thanks
I'll just have a cup of tea with you...
If you have been invited to dinner take small servings
fill up on vegies ...
and as Amber said keep a journal of your food choices
writing it down just knowing you are writeing it down can help you make better choices..
Hugs Judy:)
SW 247 CW 153ish maintaining Remember the Gold is not in the prize it's in the Journey

StretchyMcSteppy responded:
Restaurants are killers, learn the menus and try to go to the places you know. Be firm. If you like yourself 5 pounds down, I understand that! I'm with you-- Some restaurants use additives and well, chemical crap we wouldn't add to food at home, so there's that to consider.

1biteatatime responded: