Skip to content
Working past discouragement
Kl212604 posted:
Hi all. This is my first time posting, but I often read these boards while I'm at work (WebMD is one of the few websites I can access from there). A little backstory about myself -- I'm 26, female, and when I graduated from college and got a full time job where I literally sit all day, I went from weighing about 130-140lbs to 180 in less than 6 months. Since then I've gained even more, and in total in the past 5 years I have gone from 115lbs to 206. I've also been diagnosed with PCOS, and I just started taking birth control pills and metformin (which has been making my stomach hurt really badly) to help control some of the symptoms.

I've been concerned about my weight for a while, and have (mostly unsuccessfully) dieted off and on since I gained most of my weight. A variety of factors including a back injury that prevented a lot of movement and my partner being unconcerned with weight loss and being healthy made it really difficult to be serious about dieting and exercising. Fortunately, my back injury is no longer plaguing me like before, and about 3 months ago, I had a candid talk with my partner about needing her help and support as I try to get healthier. To my surprise and delight, she not only agreed, but she decided to also start getting healthier, exercising and trying to lose weight. While this has been mostly great -- it's also why I'm posting.

In the past 3 months, my partner has lost over 30 lbs. She started out at around 250lbs, and now she can fit into many of my clothes. I feel so proud of her, and I know she feels a lot better about herself, too. Unfortunately, I'm dealing with some intense jealously over her weight loss. At this point, I've only lost 20lbs, and I've been stagnant at 186lbs for a couple weeks now. I feel so happy for her, but when she comes home and talks about how everybody has been telling her how good she looks, I get so incredibly discouraged.