Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Gaining, midlife
justmejust posted:
My weight has gone from a low of 193 to my current 2011. I have gradually lost my motivation to eat better and exercise more.

I heard that if I walk 30 minutes a day but sit around the house the rest of the day, which is what I do now, I will gain. I consume healthy foods daily and many unhealthy carbs, causing my gains.

My relationship with hubby is the best it's ever been. My teens are doing well. My mood and health are stable. I am 51 and in a healthy menopause.

I wonder if I am experiencing a moderate mid life crisis. I was an artist in my youth and in college. I was a graphic designer in my career. Then I was a wife and mom. I am an average cook and housekeeper. I have the time to do whatever I want now and I actually enjoy my daily routine with my family.

I plan to increase my walking gradually as my back improves with my chiropractic care. In the mean time, I am enjoying sitting a lot and relaxing even though it is maybe too much sitting!
Laura

Baby steps, to a healthy lifestyle change. When you change your thoughts you will then change your weight. Getting healthy is about progress, not perfection.

abnersmom responded:
Hey Laura,
Just an observation:
It would appear from your post that you are quite happy where you are in your life right now, so I can see why there would be no motivation to change anything.

If you are happy, healthy and content, why would you? Glad things are going well for you.
Debbie SW 265 CW 150 maintaining - Don't exchange what you want MOST for what you want at the moment.

justmejust replied to abnersmom's response:
Hi Debbie,

That is a good point!

Well, I left off this thought I recently heard - that obese people do not live to be 80 and older. I do want to be here for my kids and grandkids. My obesity will cause poor health eventually. I have a sleep machine I could do without.