Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Can't Seem to Lose Weight
An_250547 posted:
I am a 42 year old female that has just gone into menopause. I have been keeping track of my meals for the past 2 months. I am trying to keep my calorie intake between 1200-1500 daily. I have also started exercising several times a week. I am having to take the exercise slow because of previous surgeries and injuries. I, ummm, forgot my age and began working out full steam ahead but quickly stirred up those old injuries.

The problem is I just cannot seem to lose weight. I have lost about 5 lbs but that is it. My body just seems to hang on to everything and if I happen to have a bad day, the weight just jumps back on.

I'm really frustrated and confused.

totallywiggedout responded:
Hi An_2505etcetera etcetra, lol
Welcome!
It sounds to me like maybe you don't need as many calories. 1200 is the approx goal to lose weight, between 1400 and just about 1800 to maintain.
You may not be adding everything in too. Are you measuring and weighing your portions, or just "eyeballing"? Also, as you prepare your meals, if you are a taster, you need to add calories per taste. I'm a self professed cooking taster, and I finally settled on 8 calories per tiny taste added onto my daily intake.... let me tell you, when you add up a few days worth of tasting, it really CAN significantly deter you from doing it so often.
Plus , everything that you use as condiments, toppings and the oils to cook with.... all of that has to be added into your daily caloric load.
Keep special tabs on your sodium intake too. Stay within or lower than daily recommendations. Salt makes you retain water, which weighs you down.